V3’s Birthday Meal (Special fried rice & Gizzard in Chili Cream sauce)

Ramblings
The best Chinese special fried rice is made in Lagos Chinese restaurants, controversial statement I know, I am not trying to start a food war here, I am sure that authentic Chinese special fried rice is the best but I have never been to Asia. Ok let me qualify it and say the best that I have had is made in Lagos, the flavors are so intense, the perfect chili kick, fluffy rice, etcetera, etcetera.
V3 bought us Chinese from Sticky Rice in Westfield City, Stratford on her birthday and I must say that it was pretty good, flavors were not as intense as my Lagos rice but it was probably the best that I have had in London. DVs recommend!!!
V3 could only afford to buy us special fried rice so I decided to make some gizzard to go with the meal. I didn’t feel like the typical dodo gizzard or gizzard with peppers so I made up this dish as I went along and I have actually written up the recipe, progress!!!!
I keep forgetting to take pictures though, I apologise but I have uploaded a picture of a delish dish from L’afrique in Lagos. It’s been recommended by F&B, these girls love food as much we do as in my papa used to be so impressed with the way they scoffed down food whenever they slept over at ours so I am happy to give it a DVs recommend!!!


DVs Recipe: Gizzard in chili cream sauce
Ingredients
1 whole white onion
400g chopped tomatoes
1 scotch bonnet pepper
200g soft cheese
1 lb. chicken gizzards  
1 tsp salt  
1 tsp of curry powder
3 Tsp of sunflower oil
2 knorr cubes
A pinch of ginger powder
Nomu one for all rub (note below)
1 garlic clove (optional)
Fresh Corriander
Method
   1.      Wash and clean gizzard very well
   2.      Season gizzard with salt, knorr cubes, ginger powder and crushed garlic
   3.      Place in a pot and simmer on low heat for 15 minutes until tender.
   4.      Blend tomatoes, pepper, onions and soft cheese.
   5.      Put sunflower oil in another pot on medium heat; add blended mixture and let it simmer for 15 minutes.
   6.      Transfer gizzards in the oven (150C) for 8 minutes.
   7.     Add gizzard to blended sauce, add a pinch of Nomu one for all rub to taste (note below), cover and cook for 10mins.
   8.      Garnish with coriander
Tips
 v  Turkey gizzard is easier to clean but chicken gizzard is tastier
 v  Do not boil, let it simmer on low heat or the gizzards will become over cooked
 v  Some people fry the gizzard before adding to the sauce, I prefer to put it in the oven as its healthier and when I am in a hurry I skip step 6
Note
Nomu one for all rub is one of my extravagant purchases from Selfridges food hall – you can make your own all purpose rub with a pinch of onion salt, black pepper, coriander, parsley, rosemary, thyme and cumin.
Leave a Reply

