DVs Summer Series: Shrimp sauce, Pepper soup, Ice cream…

V4’s Ramblings

Daddy bought us 3 packs of King Tiger Prawns and 1 pack of large prawns a month ago. We argued about who was getting the king tiger prawns; V1 is like our mummy so she let us be and V3 is a very sweet girl, so in the end, V2 and I (as the grubbers of the family) ended up taking the king tiger prawns J

I looked up recipes and came up with so many options; Grilled Prawns on a stick? Prawn cocktail? Spanish Baked Prawns? I was so confused that I decided to experiment and make up my own dish. I ended up making Lemon and garlic prawn sauce
DVs Receipe
Lemon and Garlic Prawn sauce
– Dice the two bell peppers and crush one garlic clove
– Simmer the prawns with a little water a pinch of salt until it is pink (skip this step if you are using cooked prawns (the pink ones))
– Fry the pepper and garlic mix in olive oil
– Put in Lemon zest* and grated ginger
– Add the prawns
– Add a little tomato puree
– Add knorr seasoning to taste
– Fry for 5 mins and serve immediately

We also had pepper soup, and roasted chicken, why not? Its summer and exams are over!!!!! Although we later realised its a bit too hot for pepper soup but we hadn’t had pepper soup in forever, we ended up finishing it.
I made the pepper soup with a bunch of spices my mummy sent to me. As this was my first time making pepper soup, I was a bit anxious. I poured my first try away as it was too bitter. After starting all over and calling the other Vs to ask what I should do to avoid the bitter taste, I got it on my second try. Yayyy! 


I marinated a whole chicken with salt, pepper and knorr seasoning, massaged the chicken and stuffed it inside with garlic, lemon and onions. I put it in the oven for 45mins.

First course: Pepper soup; Main Course: pasta with lemon and garlic prawn sauce with roasted chicken; and ice cream for dessert. Yum!
My friends that ate it with me said it is one of the best things I have ever cooked. J

Tips
*Lemon zest – zest is the outermost rind of citrus fruits (usually lemons and oranges). Remove the zest from the lemon using a grater; make sure you remove the bright yellow zest and none of the white pith, which is bitter.

One thought on “DVs Summer Series: Shrimp sauce, Pepper soup, Ice cream…

Leave a Reply

