DVs Summer Series: Disastrous but amazing meal!

Disastrous because our guests weren’t too keen on the squid in the seared squid, chorizo & tomato stew. The recipe said if you are not a fan of squid…. try replacing with large fresh prawns but no, I decided to use squid without bothering to check if my guests liked squid.
Actually I blame H2, he constantly extols my cooking virtues to his comrades so when they come over I like to put in the effort and rustle up something unusual. I lie, I also thought it was a good idea to use up the frozen squid that I picked up from Tesco weeks ago forgetting that I had never made squid and that it is never a good idea to experiment when you are cooking for guests
Basically the odds were against me, H2 had promised our guests a 3-course meal on a weeknight and I was cooking squid for the first time but ultimately it was really good to catch up with Mr & Mrs M even though they didn’t eat much; H2 and I were happy to demolish the leftovers down to the strawberry tart that we had for desert.
It was a good dish if you like squid and if you don’t like squid do the wise thing and replace with large prawnsJ
DVs recipe – seared squidking prawns, chorizo and tomato stew
Ingredients
500g king prawns
1 tsp smoked paprika
2 garlic cloves
1 onions
1 scotch bonnet pepper
400g canned tomatoes
200g cooking chorizo, finely sliced and grilled golden
3 sprigs of thyme
Chopped Parsley to garnish
2 Knorr seasoning cubes
Salt to taste
5 Tsps of olive oil
Method
1.   Heat olive oil in a frying pan, add onions and garlic and gently sauté until soft.
2.   Add the prawns and cook for 5 mins, and then add smoked paprika, thyme sprigs and canned tomatoes.
3.   Season to taste with salt and knorr cubes and bring to boil.
4.   Add Chorizos and allow to simmer for 15 minutes.
5.   Serve with Rice and garnish with chopped parsley.

Bon Appétit!



One thought on “DVs Summer Series: Disastrous but amazing meal!

Leave a Reply

