DVs Summer series: Baked potato with sautéed mushrooms and green onions

I have not cooked for like 5 days, imagine that! Obviously H2 is away; don’t think I would have gotten away with not cooking for 5 whole days otherwise. As much as I missed him, I was glad to get some respite from cooking proper meals. It even inspired me to eat only vegetables for 4 days, it was hell.  But I am proud of myself; I was a vegetarian for 4 whole days!

The first couple of days, I was munching grapes, cherries, strawberries, carrots batons and sliced cucumber all day, on the third day I decided to at least try…..
To create something that was a compromise between my reluctance to cook coupled with my desire for something other than carrots and cucumber.
Result: baked potato with sautéed mushrooms and green onions. This would have been even better with pancetta and cheese on top but I was vegetarian J


DVs recipe: baked potato with sautéed mushrooms and green onions
(Serves 1)
v  1 large baking potato
v  1 tbsp olive oil
v  2 spring onions, sliced
v  1 small onion, diced
v  5 -10 button mushrooms, sliced
v  1 hot chilli pepper (optional)
v  Chives to garnish
v  Butter, to taste
v  Sour cream or crème fraiche (optional)
Method
1.      Scrub the potato then dry with a clean tea-towel. Prick them all over with a fork (very important as it allows steam escape so that the potato doesn’t explode in the oven), rub the potato with a little oil and sea salt (this will make them golden and crispy).  (Place in the microwave for 8mins, this will expedite the cooking time in the oven).
2.      Put the potato directly on the top shelf of the oven and cook for 30minutes or until crisp and tender.
3.      Heat olive oil in a frying pan over medium heat. Add the onions, pepper and mushrooms and sauté until caramelized, about 15 minutes. Season with sea salt to taste.
4.      Remove cooked potato from the oven and place on a board, make a cross in each potato and ease open. Add butter, sour cream, sea salt and pepper to taste then spoon in mushrooms, pepper and onions mixture to the cooked potato. Serve sprinkled with chives.
Enjoy!


Leave a Reply

