DVs Summer series: Fruit kebabs

Three + 1 solid excuses for the intermittent blog posts:
  1. Food blogs: so many people are writing about their food exploits, from the delirious housewife to wandering chopsticks. I now have a browser tab permanently open at food52.com; it is an online crowd sourced cookbook, go figure. This blog surfing has inspired, intimidated and scared the hell out of me. All in all I am inspired as I have concluded that the world is big enough for all of us and our passion infused talents.
  1. Money money money: food is expensive o. Do you remember my very first post when I said H2 and I had a self-imposed SAP (http://dvsfoodobsession.blogspot.co.uk/2012/02/v2s-ramblings.html) which, basically meant that we were trying to be prudent. Long and short of the story is that it has not really worked because I keep finding an excuse to buy more food, it doesn’t help that I have eyes for Waitrose and M&S food produce. H2 vexed, I cut up my joint account card and now I can’t spend over the budgetL. Anyhow, I bought ‘value’ ham a couple of weeks ago for my honey cornbread muffins and I must say that I could not tell that it was value ham.  Going to try and see if I can mix and match….
  1. Laziness: Yes I won’t lie, I have been lazy but there’s a proverb that my mum said too many times when we were growing up that usually pushes me to action after I have lazed around too long.  (A little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to rest and poverty will come on you like a bandit and scarcity like an armed man)
  1. H2: H2 has been away and it is an excuse because he is my number one taster. Saying that one time I served him Greek stuffed vine leaves with rice and he didn’t eat it. I was so upset and started saying he didn’t support my passion, blah, blah, story for another day, lol.
I hope that I have managed to convince you and not confuse you that I had valid reasons for the irregular postsJ.
DVs recipe: Fruit Kebabs
This is very easy to make; very healthy desert; Refreshing in the summer; they are so pretty to serve as well plus kids will love them.
Ingredients
v  1 cup water
v  5 Tsp caster sugar (you can add more or less)
v  ½ grated ginger
v  Chopped fresh mint
v  Squeezed lemon juice / lime juice
v  Lemon zest
v  I tsp of essence of rose water (optional – I just love how it smells)
v  Mangoes, strawberries, pineapples, raspberries and nectarines
Method

1. Create the fruit kebab using cocktail sticks. Be sure to mix the fruits to make it colourful
2. Add the remaining ingredients in a saucepan; bring to a boil over medium heat. Then simmer uncovered, without stirring, until syrupy (about 3mins). Strain and allow it to cool down. Drizzle over fruit before serving.
Tip
I also had melted white chocolate (Lindt chocolate, of course) for dipping, yum!


One thought on “DVs Summer series: Fruit kebabs

Leave a Reply

