Ramblings of a hungry, sleep deprived student…Part 1

I haven’t written a post in ages; between lectures/labs, maid of honour duties, Panafrik (our UCLU ACS explosive show – 9 February 2013; showcasing of an eclectic mix of African and Caribbean culture; spoken word, dance, drama, fashion, etc), tutoring, SLEEPING, I just haven’t had the time. Been crying to my sisters to send me coolers of food, they havent responded but I am hopeful…… 🙂
 
Last weekend, I decided to finally cook and I was feeling adventurous and decided to go beyond the standard chicken stew, jollof rice and pasta most Nigerian students live on. As there’s usually no time for fancy cooking my strategy is to make sauces that would add an ooomph to my standard meals. They have turned my rice and stew, pasta and indomie noodles dishes from basic fares to amazing….. 
 
My sauce list obviously includes prawn sauces. I am a huge seafood lover and any well seasoned prawns tossed in a tasty sauce will make me happy. I have tried various recipes with prawns. Peppered soy sauce and garlic prawns for the days I feel like having spicy food to DVees Whipped cream prawn sauce for the days I am unusually hyper and craving sweet food. V3 made this over Christmas and I was in heaven. 
 
The next is dodo gizzard. I am in love with dodo gizzard. The only thing better than fried plantain or peppered gizzard is peppered gizzard and fried plantain mixed together. It transforms my indomie noodles to a scrumptious meal. For the days I cant be bothered to go to Kilburn to buy gizzard, I use beef instead of gizzard. It is not the same but a good substitute.
 
Lastly is a normal mix veg, chopped peppers, tomatoes and diced chicken sauce, for a different twist add fresh lemon juice and minced garlic. 
 
All of these sauces take an average of 20 minutes to cook. It is quick and easy to make and it makes a huge difference. 
I leave you with my lemon and garlic prawn recipe which any student can whip up in less than 15 minutes.. 
Lemon and Garlic Prawn Recipe
 
Ingredients:
2 pounds Tiger Prawns
1/4 cup vegetable oil
2 to 3 Tbsp fresh lemon juice 
1 bunch green onions, with a few inches of green, thinly sliced
1/4 cup chopped parsley
3 cloves garlic, finely minced
1 teaspoon dried leaf basil
1 teaspoon dry mustard
1 teaspoon salt 
1 magi stock cube
a handful of chopped bell peppers
 
Image
 
Preparation:
Place prawns in a glass bowl. 
Stir remaining ingredients except the pepper together; pour over shrimp 
Cover and marinate for 2 hours
Pour oil in a frying pan, add peppers and fry over medium heat for 3 minutes
Add prawns mixture to the pan and cook on medium heat for 5 minutes
Tip – Marinate the prawns overnight or skip the marinating process
Leave a Reply

