Where there’s a will there’s a way

I don’t know if I should be proud of myself or concerned. H2 got rid of all the biscuits in the house to help me help myself. Today I had a relapse, gathered all the coins around the house and marched to the corner shop to buy Oreos – only to be told it cost £1.29 and I only had 99p. I am picky when it comes to food so just any other biscuit wouldn’t do. I came back home sad. And then I thought, I have flour, caster sugar, etc…. 30 mins later; viola, we have “DVees vanilla sugar & spice biscuits”

Image

Recipe
Ingredients
100g plain flour
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
2g baking powder
Pinch of salt
50g soft brown sugar
5g milk
75g butter

Method
Preheat the oven to 180°C/350°F/Gas 4.

In a bowl, mix together the flour, cinnamon, ground ginger, nutmeg, baking powder, salt, sugar, milk and butter, using your hands, bring the mixture together as a dough.

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured work surface and roll out to a 0.5cm/¼in thickness.

Using a cookie cutter, cut out shapes or circles from the dough and place them onto a baking tray lined with grease proof paper.

Transfer the biscuits to the oven and bake for 15-18 minutes, or until golden brown. Set aside to cool on a wire rack, and then serve.

One thought on “Where there’s a will there’s a way

  1. Well seeing that I’ve got time on my hands at the moment, I’ll be trying this tomorrow to “break” the fast :)!
    Will feed back later!

Leave a Reply

